View Full Version : What's up with this ebay D90?
badgerman
November 16th, 2007, 04:55 PM
I really got a laugh on this ad. Anybody on the list?
Item number: 220172592958
Seller's payment instructions
Buy it now for US $8600.00
*****Willing to meet buyer on the Northwest side of Chicago to hand deliver for cash payment*****
tallest1
November 16th, 2007, 05:11 PM
i'm tryin to figure out why it's priced so low?
mpsteil
November 16th, 2007, 05:15 PM
i'm tryin to figure out why it's priced so low?Has to be a scam or a major misprint. If not I would fly to any state and pay cash also. Heck I would give them 10k just for their trouble. Mike
JBOD77
November 16th, 2007, 05:16 PM
scam??? I could swear that I have seen that one before....maybe just similar
Wolf Fabrication
November 16th, 2007, 05:17 PM
It's a scam of course. That D-90 was for sale a few months back, and I think I have seen it a few times. Anyway, it was originally for sale in Park City, UT - funny how it's the same pics! If Chicago actually looked like that I would move there!!!
JBOD77
November 16th, 2007, 05:24 PM
I picked up on the cargo nets and the hella 4000's. Wonder were the ski hill like that is in Chicago??
badgerman
November 16th, 2007, 05:25 PM
I was wondering if it's a safe neighborhood to carry cash in? :eek: Someone must need some Crack!
cgalpin
November 16th, 2007, 06:20 PM
Here is what dmv.org says about the vin listed:
Report Run Date:: 11/16/2007
Vehicle: 1997 Land Rover Defender 90 (SALDV2240VA111270)
Event date Location Odometer reading Data Source Details
09/16/1997 CAREFREE, AZ
55
Motor Vehicle Dept. TITLE (Title #:TAE4972590441)
REGISTRATION EVENT/RENEWAL
11/14/1997 CAREFREE, AZ
Motor Vehicle Dept. TITLE (Title #:T4ZV973170050) (Lien Reported)
09/22/1998 CAREFREE, AZ
Motor Vehicle Dept. REGISTRATION EVENT/RENEWAL
09/23/1998 CAREFREE, AZ
Motor Vehicle Dept. TITLE (Title #:A33124A265104) (Lien Reported)
08/04/1999 CA
1,218
State Agency PASSED EMISSION INSPECTION
08/11/2000 SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Motor Vehicle Dept. REGISTRATION EVENT/RENEWAL
08/23/2000 SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Motor Vehicle Dept. TITLE (Lien Reported)
10/01/2002 CA
37,535
State Agency PASSED EMISSION INSPECTION
09/02/2004 CA
50,339
State Agency PASSED EMISSION INSPECTION
08/18/2006 HOUSTON, TX
69,605
Motor Vehicle Dept. PASSED EMISSION INSPECTION
PASSED SAFETY INSPECTION
11/08/2006 SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Motor Vehicle Dept. TITLE
REGISTRATION EVENT/RENEWAL
11/14/2006 BELLAIRE, TX
Motor Vehicle Dept. REGISTRATION EVENT/RENEWAL
11/27/2006 BELLAIRE, TX
69,700
Motor Vehicle Dept. TITLE (Title #:10137139033103608)
04/10/2007 CA
71,890
State Agency PASSED EMISSION INSPECTION
04/16/2007 CA
71,891
Motor Vehicle Dept. ODOMETER READING FROM DMV
04/25/2007 SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Motor Vehicle Dept. REGISTRATION EVENT/RENEWAL
05/06/2007 SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Motor Vehicle Dept. TITLE
JSBriggs
November 16th, 2007, 07:01 PM
I thought it was so low due to the Texas sticker on the back!
http://i17.ebayimg.com/04/i/000/c4/8d/bda2_1.JPG
:grin
-Jeff
Stmpede
November 16th, 2007, 09:47 PM
I picked up on the cargo nets and the hella 4000's. Wonder were the ski hill like that is in Chicago??Ski hill? Thats the landfill! :grin
Its probably another one of those like the e30 M3 I mentioned the other day in the MD/VA Fraud thread. People copy the page off Ebay and relist it with all the info months later at a rediculously low BIN price. They figure people will get so excited and worried it will be sold out from under them that they will pay before doing enough research. I am sure that whoever posted it probably has never even seen the truck let alone own it.
Look at his feedback too. Only 11 all within the last 2 months. He probably opened an acct. and bought a bunch of dirt cheap items that he promptly paid for so that he would have some + feedback when he pulled this crap.
Just my $.02
badgerman
November 17th, 2007, 08:05 AM
Andrew,
I think you are right on the mark. Also, I have never seen someone list the information on a vehicle the way they have. It just doesn't seem quite right.
pmd
November 17th, 2007, 09:18 AM
Sounds like a scam...
I too was interested to know if it was a scam, so I e-mailed the seller to see if I could view the Defender. Heck if it was true and in great condition and under $9k I'd fly to Chicago and drive it home.
Here's his reply:
Hi, i received your email regarding my car. First off all i would like you to know that the car will be shipped from Yukon, Canada for free anywhere in United States, you will receive this beauty in 11 dayes. The car you are interested in is in perfect condition, it has not even a scratch or damage, it have not been involved in a accident. All documents, including owner's manual, clear title and a bill of sale on your name will be shipped along with the car. Currently i'm out of states with my wife, she was diagnosed with breast cancer and she's going thru treatments in Canada.
Asking price for my car is $8900.00, i have ended the auction early for a buyer but it looks like he failed for a Ioan so the car is still available for sale.
Please email me back asap if you are realy interested and have funds available for this purcahse.
Best Regards,
Antonio & Clara Amaya
badgerman
November 17th, 2007, 09:29 AM
:rofl :rofl :rofl :rofl I think I just got an email from his cousin in Nigeria. Maybe I could use that $250,000.00 that is being sent to me by Western Union.
chrisvonc
November 17th, 2007, 11:20 AM
Damn, an awful lot of people having spouse problems and running to another country to deal with it.
mpsteil
November 17th, 2007, 12:29 PM
NO longer on Ebay.
matthewwcarey
November 17th, 2007, 08:01 PM
Sounds like the same scam on a different Rover. There was a red soft top in NY state a few months ago also on EBay with the same MO. $8,500, the car was perfect, he was in FL and the car was in NY. It never went anywhere, he vanished after I started asking questions.
Matthew
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.