PDA

View Full Version : WARNING Scammer on Craig's List


2k7997tt
November 29th, 2009, 07:45 PM
I saw an add on Craig's List for a 1997 Defender 90. Blue. Mileage around 110K. The fishy part.....only 4800.00.

http://houston.craigslist.org/cto/1483334513.html

I emailed the poster of the add. His address is:

sale-ejtuf-1483334513@craigslist.org

He replied with the following:

Hi,
I am selling this Defender because my platoon has been sent back to Afganistan and don't want it get old in my backyard. The price is low because I need to sell it before December 6. It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn't been involved in any accident..I do have the title , clear, under my name.Vin #SALDV3242VA122356.The Suv has 110,000 original miles.
It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $4,800 . The suv is in Billings , MT , in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
Regards!!!

This was sent from the email address with the name Mickey Daan.

When I googled Mickey Daan, this popped up:

http://www.fightthescams.com/2009/11/22/scam2005-nissan-murano-tvdvd-5000-phoenix-mickey-daan-mkdaan2msn-com/

If this dork would have listed the Defender for 25,000 I would not have been suspicious and I might have fallen for his scam.

lake_bueller
November 30th, 2009, 11:14 AM
Similar one is listed in Milwaukee, WI. This scam tends to go around every couple of years.

I've flagged it as a scam. We'll see what happens.

Joe P
November 30th, 2009, 11:34 AM
He's scamming here in Los Angeles as well.

mpsteil
November 30th, 2009, 02:01 PM
Its only a scam if someone falls for it.:eek: I just shake with the thought there are people stupid enough to fall for something like that. Guess you could call it survival of the fittest.