PDA

View Full Version : Scam of the Week


gtg067i
December 4th, 2005, 05:42 PM
Saw this just now on ebay, its quite an interesting find actually....
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Land-Rover-Defender-90-1997-LAND-ROVER-DEFENDER-90-ONE-OWNER-LOW-MILES-CLEAN_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ31849QQitemZ45952 28094QQrdZ1

Soft top and hard top you say? Only 49,700 miles? Very strange, this must be like that red wagon that isn't supposed to exist....the storied LE soft and hard top. The best part? He will take $14,000 for it. I might just buy it myself. Funny how the pictures are of a D90 sold by landroversforsale.com in alabama. Doesn't make much sense how it would be a one owner if its changed hands at least twice.

Monkeyboy
December 4th, 2005, 06:02 PM
Hmmm, the descroiption says...

"1997 LAND ROVER DEFENDER 90 WITH 49,700 MILES. THIS IS A 1 OWNER, NON SMOKERS CAR ORIGINALY FROM MARYLAND. IT COMES WITH THE FACTORY HARD TOP AND SOFT TOP BOTH IN NICE CONDITION. THE HARD TOP HAS A FEW SMALL STRESS CRACKS, BUT IS VERY SOUND. IT ALSO HAS THE CHROME STEP UP BARS AND A CHROME GRILL GAURD. A KENWOOD CD PLAYER WAS ADDED RECENTLY. IT DRIVES OUT GREAT AND EVERYTHING WORKS 100%. IT SAYS ALOT ABOUT THE CARS I SELL AND THE WAY I DO BUSINESS. I WILL SELL IT FOR $14,000! "

Sure doesn't look like what's represented by the photos???

Mike Hippert
December 4th, 2005, 06:22 PM
And thats NO Kenwood stero! Thats an Alpine! Maybe someone should ask the seller a question, he does have allot of positive feedback.

gtg067i
December 4th, 2005, 06:22 PM
The ebay description also says it has a blue interior...also another rare option

http://ebay.carad.com/viewItem/viewAllPhotos.cfm?listing=7812146&template=48
There's where the pictures were from, funny how its marked as sold on landroversforsale and with 52k miles.

JBurt
December 4th, 2005, 07:51 PM
Somebody caught it, shows as an invalid item now.

Mark M
December 5th, 2005, 01:36 AM
I think it was pulled because it was listed as a "NON SMOKERS CAR".

1)It's not a car, it's a truck.

2)The fool that posted it on E-Bay was smoking crack.

Therefore: Fraud. Crack Smokers Truck. Caveat Emptor.

:)